The structure of the nursing CBT

The NMC Test of Competence Part- 1 exam is a Computer Based Test (CBT). It is made up of 120 multiple-choice questions. These questions must be completed in a maximum of four hours. It is intended for applicants seeking employment as a nurse in the UK.

50 questions will relate to Generic Nursing competencies found in each domain of nursing. 50 questions will be an application of Generic Nursing competences to the specific field of nursing being applied for,example, as applied to the adult, child, person with a learning disability or person with a mental health problem 20 questions will focus solely on the specific competencies required for the field of nursing being applied for.

The Generic Nursing domains, General Competencies and Essential Skills cluster cover four main domains as described by the Nursing and Midwifery Council (NMC).These are:

  • Professional values
  • Communication and interpersonal skills
  • Nursing practices and decision making
  • Leadership, management and team working

You will be tested on a range of applications of the generic nursing competencies to the specific field of nursing.These are:

  • Adult nursing
  • Mental health nursing
  • Learning and disability nursing
  • Child health nursing
  • Midwifery

The test will also contain a set of questions on patient and public safety and are considered to be unique or critical items and specific nursing fields.

Practices and Procedures

The training of the test of competence at Bikham Academia follows the same format as given by NMC GUIDELINES, and you will see the actual Computer Based Test covering all four domains and questions specific to adult nursing addressed in the test, ensuring that you can fully prepare for the exam. Start Your Nursing Career with us